Rams’ Jalen Ramsey: ‘Clear as day’ that Cowboys’ Michael Gallup pushed off

The Cowboys thought they have been set as much as at the very least tie their season-opener in opposition to the Rams within the remaining seconds of regulation Sunday. LA cornerback Jalen Ramsey knew they weren’t. Nicely, he made it appear as if he was sure, at the very least.

Officers had the ultimate say on who was proper, and their name got here down on Ramsey’s facet. A 47-yard completion from Dak Prescott to Michael Gallup turned a 10-yard penalty for offensive go interference that crushed the Cowboys’ hopes for a fourth-quarter comeback. Dallas turned the ball over on downs two performs later and LA started celebrating its 20-17 victory on the new SoFi Stadium.

Ramsey could have been probably the most positive, exterior of the officiating crew, that Gallup pushed off along with his proper arm.

VIDEO: Cowboys-Rams highlights

“It was clear as day,” Ramsey stated in a postgame name with reporters. “In the event that they hadn’t referred to as it, I might have been extremely upset. Yeah, that was clear as day, in my view. I do not know what y’all noticed, however that is what I noticed and felt on the market.”

For sure, Ramsey desperately needed that outcome after Gallup beat him downfield and caught Prescott’s third-down heave to place the Cowboys on the Rams’ 19 with 21 seconds to play. The officers marched Dallas again to its 24 to make it third-and-20. LA then pressured two Prescott incompletions to clinch the win.

IYER: Worst Week 1 overreactions

“Simply watching it dwell, it appeared like two guys handfighting,” Cowboys first-year coach Mike McCarthy advised reporters in his media availability. He stated he had not seen a replay. “I assumed it was well-executed. I used to be stunned there was a name there, both approach. Clearly disillusioned within the name, significantly at that time within the recreation. I assumed they let each groups play tonight and also you simply do not normally see that [call], significantly in a essential level within the recreation.”

Referee Tony Corrente stated in an announcement to a pool reporter (per the Dallas Morning Information) that Gallup’s foul was “clear and apparent on the sphere, of a hand into the opposing participant. A full arm extension that created separation.”

“In all conditions that may be referred to as,” he added. “We’re not going to permit that at any time of the sport.”

Some observers will argue that the officers have been fooled by Ramsey promoting the decision as he leaned again and flailed whereas trailing Gallup.

The Gallup penalty was the second controversial offensive go interference name Sunday. Bengals huge receiver A.J. Inexperienced was referred to as for pushing off on the Chargers’ Casey Hayward previous to grabbing what would have been a go-ahead landing go from Joe Burrow with seven seconds to play. Inexperienced appeared to make much less contact than Gallup did in opposition to Ramsey.

Randy Bullock missed an try at a game-tying area objective on the following snap and Cincinnati misplaced 16-13.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *